Gethsemane’s True Answer

It’s 8 hours after the initial revelation and I’m still trying to come to terms with what I heard.  It made more sense to my spirit at the beginning than it did to my brain after I continued to research.  The Lord had warned me about over-researching and over-thinking a couple of yrs ago but, truthfully, I wanted to be able to explain what I’d heard, what I knew for certain I now knew.  I didn’t care to impress people with my vast understanding; I merely wanted to be able to answer any questions which might arise and I know questions will arise.

Well, that’s not entirely true.  I also wanted to be able to use some of the big (Christian-ese) words that I’d heard Bible and Theology scholars use from time to time but the problem here is – I never can remember the meaning of these substantial, multi-syllable, multi-lingual words.  I’ve tried for hours to gain enough speed to look some of them up so I could use them correctly.  Nope, didn’t happen and just as well.  If ever I were to (ok, whenever I do) read this blog again, I’d have to break out the dictionary and the Greek translation all over again.

I sincerely hope someone else appreciates the inner-workings, and deficits, of my mind.  Thinking about all I’ve been thinking about since this morning brings me a chuckle, for sure.  Also, I acknowledge here, and I’m fully aware, that I may be labeled because of what I say here, if I have not been labeled already.

Ok, on with it – My friend, Dawn, contacted me this morning concerning a vision I had previously shared.  In this vision, I described a scene in a cave where Jesus showed to me many vials.  Some of these vials contained my voice and also different aspects of my voice.  I was allowed to partake of them all, save one, which Jesus named Suffering.  This one, He said, was His and I’d already had enough suffering.  Dawn had mentioned this to me a month ago and I knew she and Holy Spirit were trying to work out the full understanding.  The entirety of this vision can be found here. Out of the (Prayer) Closet… and into the Cave.

Dawn messaged, “You know the cup of suffering you saw in the cave (that so bothered me) and wasn’t for you to drink?  I know what it is.  All our caves…mine, yours, etc… have this cup of suffering.  It’s Jesus’ cup that He drank on our behalf!  Luke 22:42”

I went to several Bible translations and read this verse.  I read it in context of several verses and I read the chapter.  I’ve heard it many, many times, as have those of you who have had any amount of exposure to the church.

Luke 22:41-43 YLT “And He withdrew from them as it were a stone’s cast, and having fallen on the knees he was praying, saying, ‘Father, if Thou be counseling to make this cup pass from me…; but not my will, but Thine be done.’…”

Or in KJV – “And He was withdrawn from them about a stone’s cast, and kneeled down, and prayed, saying, “Father, if Thou be willing, remove this cup from me:  nevertheless not my will, but Thine, be done.”

I love the old translations.  They are so rich in imagery it’s almost as if you can taste the mouthful of words as they roll off your tongue.

While beautiful and full, these translations did not satisfy a gnawing I experienced.  Something was missing; something didn’t quite fit with the God I know. It has always been taught through these verses that Jesus begged God to not go through with the plan, the torture, death, burial, and resurrection but that, if Jesus absolutely had to, if there were no other way, then He would submit.  It’s also been widely taught that God told Jesus, “No.”

I went to the Orthodox Jewish translation also before I remembered the new testament was originally Greek. (I know my friend, George, chuckled at me just now.)  Lacking a Greek/English translation, I utilized Google.  I’m quite enamored with Google also, by the way.

It was during the reading of the Greek/English when my eyes and ears were opened.  I can hope to describe the scene as fully as Holy Spirit described it.

First, it is known the Greek biblical text was originally written without punctuation.  There were no sentence breaks, no paragraph breaks and certainly no commas or semi-colons.  Holy Spirit prompted me to hear as He read the text and it completely changed and unhinged my understanding.

As Holy Spirit read (from Greek /English translation) – “Father, if you are willing, take away (Strong’s – come alongside) this, the cup, from me, but not the will of me, but (the) of You be done.”

I know it doesn’t seem very different yet but don’t stop now.  As He was reading, Holy Spirit was also magnifying certain words and aspects.

Jesus knew He was taking on Himself all of mankind’s suffering.  It was all planned from the beginning of time.  Here, Jesus was not begging to avoid anything.  He was asking Father to let this sacrificial act be accredited to all humanity.  Jesus was frequently, if not constantly praying for His fellow man.  Why would this time be different?

Because this would be so painful, you say.  Had not God, the Father, already endured all the pain of His creation from the beginning?  The Bible states, God is Love.  (1 John 4:8)  What does love do, ultimately?  Love adores, serves, sacrifices, and suffers.  And, up until the time of Christ, there seemed to be no hope, no way out, no sparing, for ourselves or for God.  No, Jesus did not fear the pain.  He was praying for humanity, that every man (person, ever) be included in His sacrifice, as was already planned beforehand.

So, how can I be so certain God did not tell Jesus, “No,” in these verses?  Because Jesus had already stated, “For I have not spoken of myself; but the Father which sent me, He gave me a commandment, what I should say, and what I should speak.” (John 12:49 KJV)

Jesus only said what He heard the Father say, so why should the Father deny Him?  In the same chapter Jesus also said, “Now My soul has become troubled; and what shall I say, ‘Father, save Me from this hour’? But for this purpose I came to this hour. 28 Father, glorify Your name.” Then a voice came out of heaven: “I have both glorified it, and will glorify it again.” (John 12:27,28)

Father and Son were perfectly in sync.  I dare say at all times.

In strengthening His position on this text, Holy Spirit went on into verses 43 and 44 of Luke, chapter 22.  “Appeared moreover (but now, on the other hand) to Him an angel from (the) Heaven, strengthening Him and having been in agony, more earnestly He prayed.”

Holy Spirit pointed out to me, yes, and angel from Heaven had appeared to Jesus for the purpose of strengthening Him.  But the angel was not strengthening Jesus in a moment of human weakness.  It was bringing to Him a word of, “Yes,” from Heaven.  Jesus had been in agony (…having been in agony…) but after the angel appeared, Jesus was bolstered to continue in His prayer.  I don’t know what He continued to pray for/about.  I could guess but I have not heard from the Lord specifically on this.

Now, this cup of suffering.  To recap:  Jesus and God had always planned for Jesus to take the cup of suffering for humanity.  Jesus only spoke what He heard the Father speak.  Jesus asked that (His sacrifice of) the cup of suffering be acceptable to remove/alleviate the suffering of humanity.  And the Father said, “Yes.”

Therefore, all the things I have suffered – sexual, physical, emotional, mental, spiritual abuse – because Jesus sacrificed and drank this Cup of Suffering, even though I did endure, I could be healed.  And even though you suffered through- even sickness, disease, infirmity – which all qualify as suffering, you can be healed.  Had Jesus not partaken of this cup, would I (you) have had the opportunity to be healed?  Personally, I do not believe so.  But Jesus did partake!  And the Way is made!  God has not said, “No.”  The Father did not tell Jesus, “No,” and He has not said, “No,” to you.

“For no matter how many promises God has made, they are “Yes” in Christ. And so through him the “Amen” is spoken by us to the glory of God.”  (2 Corinthians 1:20 NIV)

Jeannie Berzett Wilbourn

3 thoughts on “Gethsemane’s True Answer

  1. Wow, that’s a lot to wrap my head around. Not sure I even comprehend all of it. Will have to reread this when I can sit and meditate on it and do some digging on my own.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

